The Baby Bird Turned Out Okay But Did Not Inspire

“Last spring, I saw [a] baby bird. It kinda flopped down from the tree but it was really determined. It kept hopping from its safe little nest to the street. Then it hopped all the way across the street and didn’t get hit by a car. That bird couldn’t fly, but it ended up okay.

I don’t think that’s very inspirational – in fact I think it’s really sad. And I think that damn baby bird was really lucky. I wonder if it ever did learn to fly, there on the other side of the street, while its family sat around eating fat worms and tried to ignore it.

I’m not that determined, I don’t think.”

– One (One Universe) by Leigh Ann Kopans

Leave a Reply

