Innocent Love and Dark Coffins

“FOOL:

(he sings)

  Come on, let me die now
   And put my body in a dark coffin.
   I feel my breath leaving me.
   I’ve been killed by a beautiful girl.
   Prepare my shroud of white,
   Adorned with sprigs of yew-tree.
   I’m the most faithful person
   Who ever lived or died.
   Don’t scatter sweet flowers
   On my black coffin.
   Don’t let my friends
   See my poor corpse.
   I don’t want to hear sad sighs,
   So bury me where no sad lovers
   can find my grave to weep over it!”
 
– Twelfth Night by William Shakespeare
Leave a Reply

